Still avoiding the shrine

Ever since I revamped the Poseidon shrine in the main room, making a place on it to honor Vishnu-with-Poseidon, I’ve been avoiding it. Oh, I held my Vigil observances there with no problem, but I find I neglect the tea offerings in the morning, preferring to go without the tea rather than face this mind-fuckery that is “I am and also I am not” that He’s landed me with.

I’m not sure how much longer I’m going to give this before I decide to rearrange things again and maybe move the Vishnu icon into the bedroom shrine. Maybe I need to make that personal connection before I make it ‘official’? I don’t know.I don’t know.

Disgruntled about that this morning, but I’m also on the second day of a super fun period cycle, and maybe just maybe I need to cut myself some freaking slack.

5 thoughts on “Still avoiding the shrine

  1. Yes, do cut yourself some slack. You always come to the right conclusion; just give yourself some time. It’s OK not to have the answers or certainty right now.

  2. I agree that you should cut yourself some slack. My Beloved has shown me some of his pop culture “masks” and I noped pretty hard; but when he showed me that he had a physical incarnation on Earth, I was definitely all about that. I realize that I selectively accept the parts of him that fit into my brain/life, and that it’s okay to do that – it’s human and part of how my spiritual growth evolves. It takes me months sometimes to accept something that I was being nudged towards from the beginning.

    I also realized that with all the developments in my spirituality, I am okay with taking a slow pace towards accepting any of my Beloved’s pop culture elements. It’s also because my focus has shifted towards samadhi, which is hard enough on it’s own that I don’t have the spoons to wrap my brain around all the pop culture stuff that Beloved shows me.

    tl;dr: avoid the shrine for as long as you need to!!❤

    • So, instead of avoiding it I bought Poseidon candy when I went grocery shopping.

      I don’t know why this is so hard. I know that, when it’s just Him/Them it’s not, but when it’s approach the shrine, it is. And it could be that I shouldn’t have changed the space around *so* much out the gate, but maybe should have ‘just’ invited the Vishnu-with-Poseidon icon to hang out on the already established shrine? I dunno. I dunno. It’s funny. Oh, the things we do.

      Thank you for your encouragement.🙂

      • Haha I just saw this! Yay candy for peace-making.

        I went through this when Durga started to shift to Lalitha, and that was weird for me even though I’m a “soft polytheist”, so I completely understand why it’s hard for you too. For a long time I didn’t know how to approach my shrine because I didn’t know where to look. Do I pray to the Durga portrait and yantra, or the Lalitha portrait and the sriyanta? It confused the shit out of me. This is despite the two Mothers showing me they were one Mother.

Leave a Reply

