Happy Patreoniversary!! (okay, not yet, but soon!)

August marks my 1 year Patreoniversary! When I began my story subscription back in 2013, I knew that some of my friends and long-time readers would support the project. Either they liked my writing, or they liked me, or they felt badly that I was facing dental surgery with no real way to cover the cost, or all of the above. I knew they’d support the project because I ran it by them and they said yes, they’d support it. When the first person suggested I take it to Patreon, I decided I’d look into it, and then I didn’t touch it again for over a year.

Since I launched my Patreon page, I’ve gained some additional supporters, and I’m extremely grateful for all of you. You support my writing by allowing me some breathing room when it comes to getting bills paid — without this, a second job would have been necessary long before now, and that would have killed any writing time I’d hope to have. Am I greedy? Do I want more support so I can write more, so that I can put more time into editing than I manage now, so that I can learn skills to design better covers and/or be able to afford to support artists to create covers for me? Yes! I am greedy. I do want these things!

More than anything, though, I want to have more time to write, to create, and enough to also give back. I’ve been touched beyond words to be a part of this giving exchange, and I’m inspired to do more, and create more, and share more.

I want to present things that are finished and polished and professional, but you know what? That goal is not one that’s being true to who I am, and how I am. Yes, obviously, when it comes to the stories, the finished written projects, I want those as polished as I can make them. But I also want to share this process with you, and I can’t do that while making it professional and polished and finished. This is messy. It’s complicated, and it’s an adventure, and it’s all over the place. I’m learning so much about who I am as a writer, and I want to share that, too. I’m not polished. I don’t have my shit together. I’m not interested in pretending that I do.

Going forward, I’m going to share more. It’s selfish, because I know I do my best when I’m being vulnerable and terrified in the sharing. It’s also not selfish, because I know I give my best when I’m in that space, as well.

TL;DR: things are changing, and I hope for the better!

Gushing and gratitude aside (as if it could ever be aside!), what is changing? Well, I’m glad you asked!

A brief run down of what’s changing. While I am grateful, and will continue to be grateful, (have I mentioned that I’m grateful yet? Because, I want to be clear that I’m grateful!) for the support of my patrons, in my first year on Patreon, I’ve seen that most of the proposed rewards for pledges have not been taken advantage of — which can only mean that they’re not rewards people are interested in. I know we’re supposed to be all altruistic, and support the creators that we choose to support because we believe in their creation/talent/passion/what have you, but I also know that what I’ll get as a reward does enter my decision-making when it comes to who and what I want to support. It’s not the most important part, no, but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t a factor. I want the rewards I have to appeal to my patrons — so feed back, suggestions, and encouragement are welcome! In the meantime, let’s take a look at what Rewards v2.0 entails:

Everyone who makes any sort of a pledge at all will gain access to exclusive content on my feed. For those already pledging, you know that that’s an underwhelming promise. To date, my feed has been pretty dismal. I haven’t managed to find time to create new work, work at the day job, and pay attention to my Patreon feed, and I’m sorry about that. I’m committed to being more mindful of this going forward. I’m going to be scaling my sneak peeks that I post publicly way back, and making an effort to have my patrons and subscribers get the first looks at all new material — even the teasers. To that end: pledges of $1 or more will receive sneak peeks, some behind the scene access, random thinking and plotting ‘out loud’, and other ‘shop’ related blather, as I feel inspired to share. That’s neat, right? But wait, because there’s more.

All supporters will also gain access to my new adventure: Kitten, Witchin’. This is going to be an as-sections-are-available story and (bad!) art, as I stretch my drawing muscles and explore a new (to me!) way of telling story. Originally, when I got this idea, it was going to be a higher pledge reward, but 1) I don’t want to pressure myself to release before I’m ready and 2) the art is going to be bad. I basically don’t draw. I can make shapes look vaguely like they should. I can draw a cat, and you can tell it’s supposed to be a cat, but I want to get better. I want to get better because there are images in my head that I need to get out into the world, that other people aren’t going to want to do. (Read: all the Poseidon images. All of them. So many.) (read also: cats, and Corbie!) The world at large will be gaining a sneak peek and teaser of what I’m talking about, and you’ll learn more about this particular story before it goes live. Two words in the mean time. Witch. Cats. Yeah. I thought you’d be interested.

The $10 pledge reward remains the same: access to the above, and also to my story subscription. A new installment sent to your inbox each month consisting of 4k words or more (that’s roughly nine pages) of new material. My stories run to novella length, so it’s generally 5-7 months to complete a story, though I have done single installment stories before, and I want to again, once the When the Worlds Collide series is finished. If you’re interested in subscribing, but don’t want to start in the middle of a story, don’t worry! Why would I make you do that? We’re only two installments into the When Worlds Collide II; contact me, and we can work something out. Also, the first in this series, When Worlds Collide I  is available for purchase at Amazon, for $0.99, though if you contact me after you’ve subscribed and let me know you haven’t read the first one yet, I’ll be happy to email you a copy of the file. (for that matter, if you’re interested, but buying anything at all is out of your price range atm, contact me! Review copies are available.)

The $15 pledge reward is changing, mostly because no one has taken me up on the old rewards — which is fine, but also, I want you to be getting something more for your generosity than just nothing! Now, a $15 pledge will grant you access to all of the above, as well as to material I’m releasing for my The Poseidon Liturgical Year Project: small ebooks released over the course of the year detailing the holy days I observe for and with Poseidon. This includes the already released Vigil for the Bulls.

The $25 pledge reward grants you all of the aforementioned rewards, and access to exclusive videos. What are these videos? I don’t know yet! I’m thinking: tours of places that inspire some of the stories I’m writing, virtual book readings, answers to questions people might ask about my work, etc. I’m also planning on trying my hand at audiobook making, of my own books/stories/the subscription, so if that becomes a thing, the $25 pledge will also grant you access to audio versions of the installments as well.

Those are the biggest changes. I’m eyeballing the higher rewards but right now I have no idea what I might be able to offer, which is fine, because I’m not at a point where people seem interested in those anyway. Plus: let’s be real here, yes? We all know that Kitten, Witchin’, is holding all my interest at the moment. Pledge a dollar! Pledge five! Don’t miss out on the kitten’s witchy adventures!

Oh, you want a sneak peak right now? Well, I suppose that’s acceptable.

20160721_134258

Hey, I said it was *bad* art.

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Patreoniversary!! (okay, not yet, but soon!)

  1. Reblogged this on Wytch of the North and commented:
    I can hardly believe Jo will have been on Patreon for a whole year very soon! To celebrate, she’s changing her rewards, and she has some really exciting things planned–have a look!

Leave a Reply

