A Marriage of Land and Sea

cover

From the description: The Land is dying. The sea is poisoned. Roern of the Seafolk and Thalia of the Greenworld followed tradition, obeyed the omens, and bound themselves to one another, and still, the Land is dying. Storms plague what was to be their oasis, and Thalia is wasting away before Roern’s eyes. Thalia’s wish to see her parents before she dies, leads Roern to discover that nothing is quite as they thought it to be – and that all was not yet lost.

A Marriage of Land and Sea is the first novel I’ve written since 2001’s The Fosterling, and it’s a story that’s been with me for almost as long. I have feelings, seeing this out in the world. Feelings. Charlie has been with me for a long, long time.  This book is equal parts experiment (can I write novel length stories? Do I want to? Will people read that from me?), and desire (I want to see where this story goes!). I still don’t know that novels are my favorite length to write; my natural speed seems to be novellas, and I’m okay with that. That said, once I wrap up When Worlds Collide, I’ll be turning my attention back to this trilogy, and continuing on with the adventure.

 

Leave a Reply

