Morning prayers, in which instructions are given.

This is why I laugh at myself, when I remember to do so, when I tangle myself in knots over ‘what if I do things wrong? What if I misstep? What if I’m totally new to all of this and the years of experience that have taught me that I can hear and follow instruction mean nothing?’

Yesterday morning, Vishnu-with-Poseidon received His incense first. I’ve not incorporated prayers yet, just the giving, because that’s still shaky enough. I couldn’t decide the order — Vishnu first, and then Poseidon, with an eye of ‘saving the best to last’? Or Poseidon, and then Vishnu, with the idea of, you know, Poseidon being first?  I opted for the former, and realized only through the doing that that was wrong.

Brewing tea this morning, I was instructed that our morning tea is essentially sacrosanct, is our own thing, will not be shared, will not stretch to include Vishnu, not even Vishnu-with-Poseidon. This doesn’t mean that They can’t have Their own beverages, of course — so, that’ll be attended to.  It simply means that our morning tea is off limits.

It could be something He’s giving me to help me feel more steady, at this point in time. It could be that it’s something He’s giving Himself to help this all for more steady. Whatever; I’ll take it.

I’m realizing that the incense set up I have (shell with sand) is not going to work for me in the future. Two sticks of incense going at a time, I need something that will hold them more securely. I’m seeing the wisdom of those multiple sticks burning at a time holders, and will be looking to acquire one for the Poseidon shrine soon. (like, hopefully Monday). I’ll repurpose the shell to maybe just sit with sand. I’ve been wanting to figure out how to have a mini ocean on the shrine . . I dunno. We’ll see.

Did not expect territorialism over the tea. So that’s a nice discovery this morning. Hooray! Next time my brain is all, “See? He’s going to take the name from you, and every thing you’ve done with Him in the past under the ‘false’ name is now called into question,” I can respond with, “Invalid theory, because tea with Poseidon!” Take that, brain.

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Since I burn multiple sticks of incense at once I have two different set ups….on my household shrine I have a hindu style incense burner which has several holes in it for sticks (since it is normal for them to burn several sticks at once it seems), and the other is a copper bowl filled with sand that I stick the sticks into to burn. The only down side is to that is that it can be a bit of a pain in the ass scooping the accumulated ash out but otherwise it works rather well and is my preferable way of going. As for prayers have you considered praying to Poseidon a first and last kind of thing? Starting with Poseidon, detouring to Vishnu and then concluding the prayer with Poseidon?

    1. Jolene Poseidonae says:

      I’ve been using sand in a shell to hold my incense for *years* at this point; I love the aesthetic, and getting the ash off the top is easy enough. I also have one of those multiple sticks holders, but that’s set aside for the Others, once that gets going. Burning two in the sand is getting unwieldy,and so I think a second multi is going to be the next step.

      Gmta, I guess: I was already wondering if first-and-last was gonna be the way to go.

  2. TPWard says:

    Just want you to know that I find this all very interesting, in the sense that I am glad to be an observer rather than the object of this process.

    1. Jolene Poseidonae says:

      This made me chuckle. I’ve said similar things to people before. 😉 glad to be of use.

Leave a Reply

