Concepts in Modern Polytheism – Antiquity vs. Modernity

People are writing all of the things!

I really appreciate this article of Caer’s. I’ll admit, this is the first time I considered modernity and antiquity as worldview concepts, rather than time-frame concepts, and this consideration adds further nuance to the discussions regarding the draw-backs of modernity.

While I may not agree with the conclusions that an individual might make regarding modernity (I’m not sure yet, I’m still chewing on the idea), I do appreciate and whole-heartedly support the idea that we need to be aware of our biases and our worldviews, that we need to question, that going along unconsciously is a habit that we ought to challenge. Could be that, after questioning and challenging how we see the world, how we see our societies, how we see ‘modernity’ may bring us back to a place where we started from when we began questioning, but at least it would be a conscious decision, which is, to my mind at least, preferable.

MystikNomad

*Note: This post is very Euro-centric, because that’s what I know and that’s the viewpoint of most of my readers. Circumstances were/are different in other places, especially when we’re talking about living traditions, so while some of this can be extrapolated for those it’s not a one-size-fits-all thing. Keep that in mind when reading. I am also so not an expert with all of this, so if you find any mistakes please feel free to PM me and let me know!

“Antiquity” and “Modernity” are concepts at the core of quite a few debates in modern polytheism. That makes unwrapping them a great start to this “Concepts of Modern Polytheism” series!

To begin, I guess the first thing to understand is that Antiquity and Modernity don’t refer to time periods. That’s the obvious place our brains go, and where a lot of these discussions seem to founder, but it’s not…

View original post 3,237 more words

Leave a Reply

