Igraine’s Flight e-book, NaNoWriMo, upcoming series, and Vishnu/Krishna — bullet points!

  • Igraine’s Flight‘s cover is finished!! Thank you so much to Patty G. Henderson and especially, especially, especially, to Juli D. Revezzo for creating the cover and dealing with me in my glorious cover-making newbiehood. The back and forth with Juli during this process has me pretty sure that authors maybe shouldn’t be involved in the process. (“I want this scene, and all this action, and all these things going on, and all these people, and and and . .. oh, wow, that’s exactly how I asked for it. It’s awful. Can you do something different?”) I’ve got one more pass to go through with the e-book before I upload it and release it, but that will be happening before the month is over (must finish before November!)
  • NaNoWriMo is coming!!! So, I’ve re-signed* up, this time with my actual name so that people can find me more easily and know that it’s me. If you want to be buddies, go ahead and add me. I’ll be using finding and adding buddies as a procrastination technique during my next weekend when I should be editing instead, so don’t surprised if I hunt you down.
  • I’m toying around with the idea of a new blog series here, exploring story-telling as a way to explore oneself, one’s place in the world, and the language one uses, as well as exploring how different words applied to our story might lead to a different story altogether — which is one understanding I use constantly to help keep myself engaged with empathy and compassion. Because I don’t like to speak for other people, this will be an extremely personal series: I want to talk about how it is for me, how I understand these things, how this approach has helped shape how and who I am. As it will be personal, I’ll be talking about a lot of personal things. Not because I think I’m great, but because I think we should all have the freedom to tell our own stories, damn it. I’ve already begun writing it, though I don’t think I’ll have any of it published before December (because, you know. NaNoWriMo.)
  • Keeping it real: the idea of Vishnu makes me cranky. The idea of Poseidon having a connection with Vishnu makes me cranky. Especially the idea of Poseidon having any sort of a connection with Krishna makes me supercranky. Krishna is all “yay people, humans yay!!” and I’ve gotten invested in my understanding of Poseidon, which is that while he doesn’t hate people, he doesn’t like us better than other creatures. And I don’t know that Krishna being “yay people!!” really challenges that, because he could be as much “yay ______!” And, if I’m honest, Krishna is way popular, and while more and more people are talking about worshiping Poseidon than what used to be the case, I’m still a bit invested in having a less-popular god as my primary god. And that makes me cranky, too. To which I say, with love and compassion and empathy, get over yourself, Jo. No, I still haven’t cracked open the purana that I have out from the library. Cranky Jo is cranky over Vishnu. And still Poseidon says, “Okay, but maybe just read the first essay?” *mutter*

edited because punctuation changes everything.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Silence says:

    Hahaha – I knew you were gonna do NaNo. 😉 And I’m simply thrilled that Flight is moving forward; I can’t wait to see the finished version.

    1. Jolene Poseidonae says:

      It’s almost like you *know* me . . .

  2. lucywriteson says:

    I ❤ bullet points! Particularly excited about bullet point the third. Storytelling is a subject near and dear to my heart, and I would love to learn about how others view it/use it. If I decide to NaNo this year, I will look you up! Still struggling with that work deadline. (Womp, womp).

    1. Jolene Poseidonae says:

      Do it! Doo eeet!!

      Okay, don’t do it if it’s not something you want to do, of course. 🙂 But do eet!

      I’m looking forward to the series, honestly. I’m sure I’ll get something valuable out of it, and I hope others do, as well.

  3. Varian Rose says:

    Yay for writing!

    I’ve decided not to do NaNo this year (because I got burnt out last year), but I’ll be working on some devotional writing that month, which might include some fiction.

    Also the blog series about storytelling sounds really interesting.

    1. Jolene Poseidonae says:

      Yay for writing!

      I keep thinking I just need to find the way to participate in NaNo the *right* way for me. So, we’ll see what I learn from this year.

  4. henadology says:

    I’m very interested to see what comes of your investigations of Vishnu. You might find interesting some of the earliest material about Vishnu, from the Vedas, such as his “three steps”. I would also connect Vishnu’s serial avatars with Poseidon’s sovereignty over the domain of psyche and psychical vehicles, hence concerned with incarnation in general, and hence fits with Vishnu as the incarnating God par excellence in that pantheon, the God of the continuity or flow of cosmic being, taking the form corresponding to the needs of a given moment in time.

    1. Jolene Poseidonae says:

      I would also connect Vishnu’s serial avatars with Poseidon’s sovereignty over the domain of psyche and psychical vehicles, hence concerned with incarnation in general, and hence fits with Vishnu as the incarnating God par excellence in that pantheon, the God of the continuity or flow of cosmic being, taking the form corresponding to the needs of a given moment in time.

      That is, likely unsurprisingly, the point where I am most comfortably able to get behind this whole “Hey, so, about Vishnu,” thing. If I hadn’t yet tapped into Poseidon’s ?fascination? not-quite-the-word-I-want with just mortality, with physicality (and, as little as six years ago, I hadn’t yet tapped into that) I would be struggling even more with this. It all deserves more time and study than I’ve been giving it. I want to remedy that — but not until after NaNo!

  5. *g* You always make me giggle, dear girl. Glad I could be of help to you in the cover-making. Sending you lots of good energy for great success with it! ❤

Leave a Reply

