Xenia

Some thoughts from Terence on hospitality, or xenia, and whether the gods only test us on this front in human guises. More importantly (yes, you read that right), Terence shares the discovery of a new friend who might benefit from the help of others.

In writing about this encounter and his response, Terence helps to remind me that some people are awesome and respond the correct way to a creature in distress. I’m so grateful there are people like you and your wife in the world, Terence. Keep us posted on his progress!

True Pagan Warrior

I’m going to put it out there:  I suck at hospitality.  Even for a modern person, I am not the ideal.  I barely remember to bring a gift when I’m staying at someone’s house, or wine to offer with dinner.  I don’t like unexpected guests, and sometimes even dread the expected ones, or at least I do in anticipation.  Xenia, the relationship between host and guest, is not exemplified by my behavior.  In that way, I’m probably a bad Hellenist.

2015-09-28 15.26.44Yesterday, we had a shabby visitor.  He first tried to jump into my wife’s car as she left for work, then made an impression on each other person in the household as they went outside.  Our first impression, mostly from body language, was that this old cat was female, and extremely friendly.  She would go to any human she noticed, and was particularly interested in coming through the door into…

View original post 523 more words

Leave a Reply

