A Contract of Self Love

He tells me I must love myself, so I will.
I love this body, with its pains and its aches and its limitations
It’s carried me this far, and I’m amazed at how well its done.
Societal expectations of beauty have never gotten more than a toe-hold in,
and I vow that I will not be taught to hate myself based on how I look.

He tells me I must love myself, and so I will.
I reject the notion that I, alone, of all people,
must be doing
must be producing in order to have worth.
I reject that I, alone, of all people,
is void of inherent worth and value
And on those days that I cannot believe that
I will instead believe in Him.

He tells me I must love myself, and so I will.
I will honor what I come knowing
Where I’ve been, who I’ve loved and lost,
How the past has shaped me.
I will strive to know my weaknesses and I will remember
that we turn our weaknesses into strengths sometimes by simply
not allowing them to rule us.
Running stubbornly into a wall does not make the wall disappear.
Pretending we are other than we are does not make it so.
The magick comes in embracing who we are.
The magick comes in knowing who I am.

He says I must love myself, and so I will.
When I stumble, I will let myself stumble
and I will release, without regret, without censure
that which hobbles me.
I will look within
I will look to Him
and I will keep walking.

He tells me I must love myself, and I will.
In the face of a world that calls it selfishness.
In the face of the fears that tells me I can’t do this
can’t be this
should be different.
In defiance, I will do this.

He tells me I must love myself, and so I will.
I will become overwhelmed.
I will forget my limitations.
I will find myself with too much expected of me,
goals piled mountain-high, and crushing
And I will remember.
I will release.
I will forgive myself
I will be as compassionate with myself as I strive to be with others.
Again. And again. And again.

He tells me I must love myself, and so I do.

2 thoughts on “A Contract of Self Love

Leave a Reply

