Hail to the Powers of the Sea!

_80439547_statueexpsni

So, this happened recently in Ireland.

In general, I’m a pretty easy going polytheist. There are some out there with whom I agree on many points, but whose hostility toward monotheism I don’t agree with. I have found things of beauty and inspiration within a variety of the monotheistic faiths — even if I don’t quite get the whole monotheism thing itself — and I have known beautiful people whose beauty has been in part inspired by their relationship with their god. My “beloved to those I love” part of my extended family includes Jesus, a variety of saints, and a somewhat uneasy inclusion of Jehovah. I cannot — I will not — look at the bloody past between the monotheists, especially the Christians, and our pagan ancestors, because they gave as good as they got. I do not have some idyllic view of our oppressed pagan ancestors. People are people, and people are often horrible. Religion is just an excuse.

But, it’s hard to be easy going sometimes. This didn’t happen in my country, and it wasn’t a statue of Poseidon, and it wasn’t even necessarily a religious icon. The people who did this very likely were using religion as an excuse to vandalize and be general dipshits. They’re people who are short-sighted and don’t care about things like their local economy, since the statue did boost tourism to the town. Basically, they’re idiots. Part of my reaction is to roll my eyes, shake my head, and mutter about people being people.

But there’s also anger. First: that someone’s art would be so blatantly disrespected and destroyed. Second: that we live in a world were this is basically okay. It carries with it, for me, the feel of someone walking into a holy space, and destroying it. It conjures feelings of temples-turned-to-churches. I won’t lie — I’ve had fantasies since yesterday about people breaking into churches, pulling down Christian icons, and replacing them with Pan, with Poseidon, with Zeus, with Odin, with Hera. Little fantasies, a taste of your own medicine. It won’t happen, and I don’t actually approve of defacing sacred space, anyone’s sacred space, for the record.

This hit especially hard, for some reason. In my worldview, the sea Powers are all related, a bit. The lines between Them are murky (heh). Manannan is not my God, but He is one of the names I suggested Poseidon take, when He insisted He was Poseidon. (“Are You sure, because I’m really not into the Greek gods.”) and He is a God I feel affectionate toward. He is not His statue, and this does not hurt Him.

But it’s a slap in the face, just the same. It’s a reminder that for all the talk of War against Christians, we are thought of so lowly, or so not thought of at all, that it’s taken for granted that we don’t exist, or that we’re not serious and not due the consideration that others are due.

Fuck. That. Shit.

There has been millennia of monotheistic reign across the world and we’re still here.

The temples of our ancestors have been razed to the ground. They’ve been burned. They’ve been made over into churches and we’re still here.

Our statues have been defaced. They’ve been locked up in museums, out of reach, with pieces missing, when they’ve been lucky to survive at all but we’re still here, and we’re making new art.

We’ve been burned alive. We’ve been driven out. We are still being killed for our faith, and if they are killing as many of their own as they are killing us, that does not make it okay but we’re still here.

The gods are alive, and They are engaged with this world. They do not need temples. They do not need icons. They need our open hearts — and sometimes They don’t even need that much. We sing Their praise. They are loving, and They are kind, and They are monstrous and They are bloodthirsty, and I love, love, love being a polytheist. Millennia of oppression, and here They are, and here we are. So, fuck you.

Hail Manannan. May justice be served . . .  and if You feel the need to get in a little bit of revenge, too, all the better. Hail the Powers of the Deep. Hail the gods, old and new, and hail to my fellow polytheists who walk this world, worship the gods, and act as a constant ‘fuck you’ to those who would see us gone. I don’t know you all, and  we don’t all see eye to eye, but the world is better for your presence, and for that alone you have my gratitude.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. The Gods will handle this one. No, they cannot get rid of us. Just in my lifetime I have seen tremendous change as They come closer and closer, as the bonds strengthen between pagan Gods and Their spouses and Priests and Priestesses come forth and are counted. These changes are from the realm of the timeless and those who strike back in fear and hate as in this hate crime will reap what they sow. I sorrow for their ignorance but I am detached from their karma. I will not carry hate and bind myself to them, but I will not cry when their kind are no more. This has nothing to do with Christianity, this has to do with souls so shriveled up that they cannot respect another’s innate right to worship as they will.

  2. Jose Prado says:

    Well, in my experience Mannan Mac Lir/Manawydn and Poseidon/Neptune are one and the same. It may be that there is another reason why he insist you serve him the Greek way. But that is between you and he.

    I did find myself having violent fantasies of protesting in front of a church and destroying Saint figures and burning Bibles but that would make me just as ignorant and savage as them.

    As a Gnostic I believe all Spiritual Sciences are one. All Gods the same family so I worship Yahweh/Jehovah/Elah/Allah/Ahura Mazda/The Great Spirit as part of my Pantheon in fact we view him as part of the Godhead, the most of Supreme of the Deities.

    I worship the Saints because they’re Demi Gods regardless of what Christians think. Yeshua is a powerful God and a Magus on Earth. For me he is the God of Mages like Odin. Magi like myself view them in high regard though not all Magi like or worship them.

    To me this whole thing is stupid. What we should do is over power them peacefully. Ghandi over powered the British with peace. I say start doing mass prayers in old Pagan sites including the Churches that felled the Temples. Start giving out pamphlets with information on Paganism, and go to that bold site and leave thousands of Statues of Lord Mannan right there. Turn it into a Prayer site. They wanted to see it go down? I say we make it a site for power. Like a martyr for a cause this can be a rallying point for Spiritual people everywhere. Even invite a few of the more open minded Christians to participate and call out the people who did this. Let’s see them try to take us down now

  3. Beth says:

    Reblogged this on Wytch of the North and commented:
    THIS. All of this. Hail to our indestructible gods, and woe to the desecrators.

  4. It always hurts to be marginalized, whoever you are.

  5. Moon Rouge says:

    I may be reading it not right, the news article, but from its description how heavy and not easy to install the statue was, I imagine it was well prepared and also financed move to take it away. It would not surprised me if some rich collector had his own god Manannan statue stashed in some private garden, most likely joining other stolen treasures.
    The disrespect and vandalism still apply and whatever you said in your post. To leave the note and cross in Manannán Mac Lir’s place is outrages, ignorant, and shameful!

  6. Nornoriel Lokason says:

    Reblogged this on The Serpent's Labyrinth and commented:
    ^^What Jo said.

  7. Reblogged this on Loki's Bruid and commented:
    There is nothing that I can add to this other than *applause*

  8. Miaërowyn says:

    Reblogged this on The Forest Witch and commented:
    This, I can’t even, just… UGH! People can suck.
    What Jo has to say is just so very yes.

  9. Reblogged this on Adventures of a Baby Pagan and commented:
    I have no comment to add, for she says it all.

  10. trellia says:

    I would love to see us replace the one stolen statue with 100 new ones. That would show the thief a bit of defiance!

  11. magpiemason says:

    Reblogged this on Amidst Fires and commented:
    Hail the Gods old and new, remembered and forgotten; and strength to those who love and serve Them.
    May justice be swift; may justice be done.

  12. It is incredible….I even wondered if it was not a fake, unfortunately, it is not…..
    There is a Facebook campain to protest against that, I don’t know if it is usefull, but I give the link in case: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bring-back-Manannan-Mac-Lir-the-Sea-God/630114243759074

  13. Reblogged this on Robert Cliffordson and commented:
    This whole thing angers and upsets me more than words could ever properly express. An overwhelming flood of violent emotions overtook me the moment I read and heard about this travesty, and I’m sickened to the core that someone actually did this sort of thing – Those bastards!

    My only hope is that the statue of Manannan Mac Lir is found and returned to its proper place, and that the ones who committed such a crime be properly punished.

    While I’m neither a spouse or a devotee of Manannan Mac Lir, I am quite fond of the old Seadog and count him amongst a host of deities that I’m friendly to and fond of, even more so since he is the father (depending on which version of the lore you go by) of an ancestral goddess to one of the clans I’m descended from on my father’s side.

    Hail Manannan mac Lir! Hail the rider of the waves! Hail the foster father of the many skilled one! Hail the father of Aine!

  14. G. B. Marian says:

    What a hateful thing to have done. I’m very sorry that it happened, and I sincerely hope the perpetrators are caught and brought to justice.

  15. ibgreenie3 says:

    I understand your ( and my own) anger at Deities being defaced, destroyed & kept locked away from those who love & honor them. I come from a Roman-Catholic background of 45 plus years. Finding my own ancestors were practicing Stregas & and 7 years of spiritual mentors & education awoke in me my sleeping Pagan spirit.

    Blessings,
    Reverend Donna M. Swindells

Leave a Reply

