Lessons from NaNoWriMo, finding new authors, and a ‘duh’ moment . . .

Sometimes I’m a bit slow. Sometimes I stare the obvious in its face for a long time before seeing it. Sometimes I forget how excited writing makes me.

The Saturated Page

I haven’t written about it any real depth, but 2014’s NaNoWriMo.org provided me with a very valuable lesson, one that I (think I have) finished processing enough to get  some actual useful knowledge out of. What I have written about, since about week three into November, is that I utterly could not stand the way the pace makes me dread sitting down and writing.

At this point in my writing career I know a decent amount of information about how I am, as a writer. (Rule 1: Know Thyself). I know the types of stories I love to tell. I know what times of the day I write best in. I know that if I’m starting a new series that I need to be alone in the house while I’m starting, and that distraction utterly destroys me, but if the story is well along its way then commotion around me…

View original post 1,327 more words

2 Comments Add yours

  1. this is exciting. So much a different process that writing poetry. I can hardly wait to see what you do going forward!!!

  2. Jolene Poseidonae says:

    Me, either!

Leave a Reply

