Poseidon’s Festivals on the Winter Solstice by Noel Robertson

alternatively titled: I’m Lazy I’m multi-tasking.

I came across this gem when Jstor made it possible to get an account and read select articles online for free. This baby is downloadable for $19, but if you’ve got access to a computer, it’s accessible at no cost. Now, I knew going in that a number of the ‘Poseidea’ festivals fell in what is our December, though in many cases all we have is the name. And, I knew that in my own religious calendar, Poseidon kept wanting to elbow His way into our Yule celebration (and why not, what with the conflation of St. Nicholas and Poseidon in that part of the world, and St. Nicholas’s day being Dec. 6th, and why not, what with how important Yule is as a family holiday in our family). But I was surprised to discover that it was an actual thing that was actually studied and researched by scholars, previously.

I can’t share the article, because I don’t currently own it, but I can share where I found it. 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Boneweaver (aka pjvj) says:

    if you’ve got access to a computer, it’s accessible at no cost

    I Googled, I’m lost. I can’t find it at no cost?

    1. Jolene Poseidonae says:

      If you go to Jstor and search for it, it’ll come up. If you have an account, it’s accessible to read online for free. (You can also purchase the download for $19, which one of these days I’m going to!) I’m not sure that you can read it if some one else is reading it at the same time? I’m not sure how that works with their read online for free some articles option . . .

      1. Boneweaver (aka pjvj) says:

        Ooohhh… Hahaha.. Must tweak my reading comprehension skills. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

