Poseidon Hudsonios — a link!

Poseidon Hudsonios is being honored today, and I cannot express how pleased I am to see such a personal, such a modern, such a new epithet gracing the title of this hymn.

I’ve never been to the shores of the Hudson, though I know it is a grand and special river. Rivers are indeed special, wonderful places, a nice bit of the liminal spread like a ribbon across the land. Our own Willamette is a great place for me to go and touch in with Poseidon, the smallest hint of an ocean stand in, though in form they are nothing alike save for both being wet. The river has for me, too, its own spirit, but like with so much, my awareness of Poseidon sort of crowds out other connections.

Hail, Poseidon Hudsonios!

Leave a Reply

