Embracing the mistakes

Considering this new addition to my name has me considering things like, “What would that look like, written in Greek script? What would it look like written in the Elder Futhark?” I could say that I enjoy gleaning extra insight from what names spelled in this other ways might provide, but in all honesty, what I really enjoy is playing with the different shapes and letter systems.

Contemplating how I would render ‘Poseidonae’, whether in Greek or with runes, brought to mind my wedding band. I bought this ring shortly after giving my vows to Poseidon. It was commissioned through a Heathen artist and metal worker, and she very gladly worked His name, at my direction, into the band.

His name is spelled wrong. At that point in my life I was still so very uninterested in all things Hellenic. I may or may not have still been grumbling over the fact that He insisted He was Poseidon (even though names didn’t matter). The Hellenic world seemed so foreign and so different and so overwhelming. I’ll say it outright: it never occurred to me that there might be two different letters for ‘O’. Why would there be two letters for ‘O’? So, on my wedding ring I have my Husband’s name misspelled.

I’ve known this for more years than I did not, and I haven’t had a new one made. I’m likely not going to, until and unless this one breaks. For the one thing, it’s my wedding band. For another thing, I like the reminder that everything does not have to be 100% right all the time. Sometimes, the spirit is what matters most, and in this, the spirit was to celebrate this union.

I find myself thinking about this as I still try to angst over ‘Poseidonae’ and its not authentic-Hellenic-ness, considering the spelling, and its root in the here-and-now, in my preference combined with His preference, in o/Our compromising. My ring with His name misspelled is a wonderful (literal?) touch-stone to have on hand (ah, the hilarity of that sentence!) to remind myself of what is more important in o/Our relationship, and to keep both a sense of humility and of humor about myself.

Leave a Reply

