I Still Worship Zeus!

So, I know this is old, old news for so many people. This documentary has been out and has made the rounds years ago.

I’ve never watched it. At first because I didn’t have access to it, and later, because I forget it existed and also because . . . Well? I’m an American woman dedicated to Poseidon and more interested in following where He leads, not so much interested in whether other people who are not a part of my life would acknowledge my devotion to this god, or even my right to be devoted to this god. I’ve had enough of that sort of nonsense in my life, and I’ll admit it — I often cut out potential sources of learning or potential sources of information to keep drama out of my life. I’ve caught mere whispers that there’s ethnic-drama with some, with whether or not anyone outside of Greece (or outside of Europe) has any right to claim relationship with any of the gods (sort of funny; you’d think that if no one else, the Hellenic people would understand how colonies and migrations of gods might work?). I am firmly and gladly in the “the gods call who they will” camp, and I invite anyone to take my devotion to Poseidon up with Him, thank you very much. I’m not interested, and I will admire, adore, praise, revere, and love Him to my grave (and beyond, please gods.)

I stumbled upon I Still Worship Zeus on Youtube, not fifteen minutes ago. I’ve been miss type-y pants today, and I thought, hey, I’ll watch!

Not even three minutes into it, they’re talking about Poseidon. Hail, Poseidon! What’s more, the woman is speaking about how He has to do with the soul. She makes a beautiful parallel between the individual waves of the sea and individual people . . .

My experiences with Poseidon has been building more and more toward a human-friendly god, as I become more and more human-friendly myself. I find my original idea of Him being indifferent and set-apart being challenged. This isn’t bad. I don’t think I’m completely wrong, but I am reminded that much of our interactions is built around what “language” I am able to understand. I doubt I’ll ever believe that humanity is the Great Epitome of Mortal Existence, and I doubt I’ll ever interact with Him with that understanding . . . . but . . .

challenges. Challenges are good. May I remember that information and inspiration can come from everywhere. May I remember that just because Poseidon may not seem popular, that does not mean others are not thinking of Him, worshipping Him, praising Him, striving to connect to Him.

Hail, hail, generous, glorious Poseidon.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Boneweaver (aka pjvj) says:

    I find my original idea of Him being indifferent and set-apart being challenged.

    Finally. Hurrah!

    1. Jolene says:

      . . . I’m not sure what to make of this comment?

      I take it back: I do know what to make of it! I’m prickly and sensitive and overly so, apparently. I apologize. 😦

      I still . . . there is a sense of detachment and I don’t know that it’s all me? I dunno. Challenging is prickly making. *sigh*

      Keeping. It. Effing. Real.

      1. Boneweaver (aka pjvj) says:

        I have no idea why you feel you a need to apologize for the question you struck out? I sometimes use too few words, thinking others are in my head. My relationship with Him has never had that aspect of indifference. The “set apart” … perhaps, depending on you define that. So I was just, “Yay. Finally similar to me! I’m not fooling myself! Hurrah!”

        Sorry for the confusion.

        1. Jolene says:

          No worries. I’m prickly about it because “indifference” isn’t the correct word to use what it is I’ve experienced with Him, and because I have never, in just shy of two decades, found the word that works, and it makes it frustrating to try to get that particular understanding across, and so then if feels like I’ve been miscommunicating all this time, and hence, prickly. (((hugs))) There was no small amount of “I’m seriously questioning if I should even be bothering to try to talk about any of this,” in my request for clarification, which is where the need to apologize and own my prickliness came from. (((( ❤ )))

          1. Boneweaver (aka pjvj) says:

            Ahhh…, got it. {{{ ❤ }}} I remember how you described it to me (paraphrase), "it isn't that He doesn't care about the humans per se, but the reason He cares is because the humans He loves care." That description made sense to me. It didn't feel like The Whole Truth™, but it felt very close. I remember it because I was thinking, "NNnooooo!!!! He loves ALL the humans!!!" which was just a way for my brain to keep insisting that there was no reason for Him to love me better or differently than everyone – the "I'm not special" thing.

            (Did that make sense?)

            1. Jolene says:

              It does make sense.

              My hang up is still the whole “YAY Humans are the BEST” line, which I know was (and maybe even is?) a commonly held belief in Hellenic religion, and it really may well be *me* that keeps that from being true in my path . . . but of course, I don’t think it’s *just* me. So, I’m finding there is room for me to understand Him as one who is interested in humanity for humanities sake (even if I’m not because He is bringing me close and closer to including humanity in the ‘everyone deserves compassion’ to the point where it feels more and more organic to me and less trained in?) though admittedly it is new and shiny and . . . different. I can grok that we’re just another type of animal and that his caring for animals, for beings, is boundless. It’s just . . . well? People.

              1. Boneweaver (aka pjvj) says:

                Oh. Hellenic religion – I cannot speak to that.

                Me and the humans: “I love all the humans! Look how great they are!!” And later: “WTF! The humans! *This* is why I hate the humans!!” I even manage to be fine if those two extremes come out of my mouth within five minutes of each other. Probably because I believe both are absolutely true.

                1. Jolene Poseidonae says:

                  heh. That’s a pretty accurate way to explain it, actually . . .

  2. Elerah says:

    “I often cut out potential sources of learning or potential sources of information to keep drama out of my life.”

    I’ve recently had to start doing this, so thank you for writing that you do it too. I’ve really had to pare down who and what I read to cut down on triggers and subsequent chasing my own tail as I try to figure how someone else’s views fit me or if they fit me at all. Not to mention all the brain garbage that gets stirred up. Being challenged is one thing but dealing with fallout because of someone else’s views or issues is a different thing entirely and not constructive. Sometimes it feels like I’m keeping myself willfully ignorant but the information will be out there if I ever need to verify anything. Besides, I’d rather be doing than stuffing my brain full and being afraid to do. Which is what I get if I read too many of the things.

  3. There are more of us out there who honor Poseidon daily than you might think. We’re there…perhaps just more quiet than others???

Leave a Reply

