NaNoWriMo, Story Subscription, Writing Babbly

November starts tomorrow.

Tomorrow.

I’ve mentioned in passing the working title for this project, Poseidon: a Narrative, and thus far I have ideas for enough stories to get me through the first week or two of the month. I’m seeing this as follow-up, a sequel I suppose, to Treasures From the Deep, though these stories are going to be more about Poseidon than about those He touches. Last year my writing for NaNo was decided by Him, and since this year He’s claiming the month as a way for me to do what I love doing the most (writing fiction!!) while directly honoring Him, I’m guessing this is going to be a regular thing. Poseidon does not often play muse with me like this — in fact, He never has. He’s never once approached me with this feeling of, “Hey, you tell stories. I have some stories I’d like to be told.” and so this is a new head-space for me. I’m not going to lie — I’m scared out of my mind.

I write about gods and spirits, and even when they’re cast in a not so great light, I try to always be respectful. Even when they’re maybe filling a villian role, I try to be respectful of the fact that I’m telling stories about real beings that people might interact with. I also don’t treat the tales I write as though it is The Truth, The Real Version of a tale . . . I don’t think story-telling works that way, I think it’s far more fluid than that, and I think trying to pin things down into one way of being true and only one way of being true is a shame. I think this approach threatens to take the mystery out of . . .well, existence. Certainly it threatens the poetry of existence. So it’s not as though I’m sitting down with the idea that I am trying to get Poseidon’s Word out into the world, or that I’m trying to speak for Him. The biggest struggle with this project is going to be getting myself out of my own way, so I can just write.

I also owe some people some reviews. I’m sort of terrified of November.

The story subscription for November will be going out, and going out Nov 1st, but it may be a tad later than it normally is because I still haven’t set it to go yet, and I anticipate work to be a continuation of “warming up for Xmas”, on top of which I’ll be busy off the computer tonight. Sorry about that. Sometimes planning is not my strong point. (Okay. Planning is never my strong point).

Happy Halloween and Blessed Samhain to those who observe it!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo, Story Subscription, Writing Babbly

    • You should! My reasons for being hesitant to do so is exactly why I Ned to write them anyway. I suspect the same is true for you. As writers, I believe the ideas that seem the most daunting or impossible or scary (I cried when I received that title, and not tears of joy) are ideas worth exploring.

      And then sharing.

Leave a Reply

