My review of Aphrodite’s Tortoise is up! (Now with the actual link! Way to go, Jo!)

I meant to post this when the review went live, but time is a thing that I keep not having. That and memory. I need to maybe start a list of the things that need attending. (Three jobs, y’all. Three.)

Aphrodite’s Tortoise is about the veiling practices and customs of women in ancient Greece. It was a thought-provoking, interesting book that gave me absolutely no historical precedence for my veiling practice, much as I’d hoped it would. The reading of this book helped me realize that 1) I really need to stop deciding I need historical precedence for my veiling practice (Poseidon said do it. I’m doing it.) and 2) I’m not sure how comfortable I am with “modesty”, though I’m not sure what (less used by those in a power-over position as a tool to control) term I’d use instead.

4 thoughts on “My review of Aphrodite’s Tortoise is up! (Now with the actual link! Way to go, Jo!)

  1. Ah, I’m sorry it wasn’t what you had hoped for. I’ve had this on my to-read/to-buy list for some time but it looks like it won’t meet my needs either. Thanks for reviewing this.

Leave a Reply

