It Begins

on

Funny how these things feel different from year to year. Last year, I wanted to post about each day of the vigil, and I’m already thinking about how to share it next year, but this year I want to hold it super-close. I want to sit and let the Holy Grief wash over me, and I don’t want to have to worry about words. Instead, I’m reblogging this poem that I wrote last year, to mark the start of the vigil. Hail, Poseidon.

Strip Me Back To The Bone

bull

It begins in the night,
half the world away as dawn gives way to day
and is over in the blink of an eye
until the next day
and the next day
day upon day
a dance of danger
of life racing
towards the end.
Adrenaline and fear
excitement and daring
of the air charged with the promise of violence.
Blood awaits at the finish line
day upon day
and the next day
and the next day
until the adrenaline snaps
and the blood is shed
and we are gored to the bone
our flesh torn to ribbons
our blood running in rivers,
and it is over in the blink of an eye.

View original post

Leave a Reply

