PBP: A is for Agape

on

I’m not counting this as an A post of my own (tempted; my own has given be fits already this morning and it’s already late) but I wanted to share this, because it’s brilliant. While Cora and I do not agree *exactly* on this (mostly because I’m hesitant to declare one thing is absolute for all of the gods, thus to say that They all love all of us is not something I’m willing to do, I think our difference really boils down to semantic differences) I’m right there with her, regarding the gods being able and willing and even desiring to love and be loved in return. And lookee, we’re still being civil to one another! (in fact, we’re on quite good terms!)

The Heart of the Matter

There’s been a huge brouhaha over the correct way to give offerings and libations to the Gods; there’s been impassioned posts written about how we are supposed to do it and not very much is being said on why offerings and libations are given.  When reasons on why we should give are stated, it is “because it is required“.

We are to give because it is required.

The Gods require us to give to Them in order to curry Their favour, love, acceptance.

If you have children, let me ask you this: do you require your child(ren) to give you things? If your child(ren) doesn’t/don’t give you things, do you love them any less? Do you shun them, ignore them, give them a proverbial smacking?

Or do you love your child(ren) unconditionally?

When your child(ren) do(es) give you something, do you want it to be an act of…

View original post 452 more words

7 Comments Add yours

  1. You disagreed and were civil?? Drama!Cat is disappointed. http://www.wadebradford.com/dramaCat.jpg

  2. Cora Post says:

    I know, right?! I mean..shouldn’t we be hissing and spitting nasty epitaphs at each other? One day the rest of the community will gain maturity and join us at the grown-up table.

    Love ya!

  3. pjvj says:

    I mostly agree. Not going into my thing about the phrase unconditional love, but I agree with the sentiment of there not being a must do it this way or you fail.

    After blowing off “Poseidon Friday” for the holidays we reconnected yesterday. His desire? I quote: “Bring Me to life.” *pause* “Talk about Me.” No parameters were set around how to do it. So, I look at offerings the same way. If there are parameters you’ll know it.

    1. naiadis says:

      From a purely selfish standpoint, I think your talking about Him should include either posts or emails where I can see ’em. 😉

      1. pjvj says:

        Hahaha! Yeah, I figured and I agree. He seems pretty insistent that you and I stay connected – that is a parameter for different thing. Oh! Maybe that *is* the parameter. I can be so dense. But that was just Friday 2 days ago and I was going to email you to tell you then this popped up and it felt appropriate. My thing right now is I have no idea *how* to talk about Him.

        1. naiadis says:

          I don’t care if it’s here or email or blogs, so long as we stay in some sort of touch. I’ve really enjoyed having you become a bigger part of my ‘life’, as it were. (I’m still rather amused at the sheer amount of time that we’ve been on each other’s periphery. There’s always been this general fondness for you on my end, one of those ‘it’s too bad we don’t have more in common’ sort of things which HA! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA oh the funny)

          I’ve found, too, that, you know . . . one word following another works, for the talking. Or writing.

          My general experience has been, if I’m going to talk about Him, I have to bring myself into the conversation too, at least a bit. The connections, the interconnections, the threads that connect everything . . . He seems very, very big on that.

          1. pjvj says:

            One word following another, eh? :p Interconnections pop up everywhere for me so why not with Him, too?

            >>> (I’m still rather amused at the sheer amount of time that we’ve been on each other’s periphery. There’s always been this general fondness for you on my end, one of those ‘it’s too bad we don’t have more in common’ sort of things which HA! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA oh the funny)<<<

            I know. It is an Hilarious joke! On us. *lol*

Leave a Reply

