Poseidea came and went . . .

. . . and I did not mark the day.

I don’t feel badly about this. Surprisingly, actually. I held the bare minimum of devotions that I hold for Poseidon every day (“Good morning, here’s Your tea, I love You.”) I did not even burn a candle for Him. I didn’t realize until the following day that the 8th of the lunar month had come and gone — Beth holds seidhr on the 9th of the lunar month. I had stopped paying attention to the Athenian months this year, and I don’t feel badly about that. I go back and forth, and I go back and forth mostly because I like there being a month name after a festival named after Poseidon. I like that it coincides with the Hunt Season. Nevertheless, I still go back and forth with it. I pay attention to the moon cycle, so lunar months make sense to me, but using the Athenian months when I honor so few of those festivals, doesn’t really. My religious calendar looks as it should — it’s very, very Poseidon-centric, and I adore that. Still, how could I, of all people, let Poseidea come up and slip past, unmarked and unremarked upon? Whether going on the secular calendar, or the lunar, the 8th is done and gone with nary a nod from me. And I don’t feel badly about it. What gives?

For one thing: I’ve given myself a pass for this December. This month, I leave behind the year of first after my grandparents passing. For another, the day job is a retail job and people turn into consuming monsters. For another ‘nother thing: my understanding of Poseidea is this: it was a time for people to come together and honor Poseidon, specifically. And, this is something that I strive to do, every day.

I understand the purpose of festivals and holy days being observed by one who does not pay regular worship to a particular god or goddess as a time during which one could “touch in” with said deity. I understand the allure of Poseidea for someone who does not fit Poseidon into their devotions, for whatever reason, and yet feels a pull to include Him at some point, for some reason. There are festivals and holy days wherein I do that with others — those few Athenian festivals that I do mark, I mark for that very reason.

Poseidea this year fell on the 10th of December, which is both my grandfather’s birthday, and the day we buried my grandmother. My Love is a generous and compassionate god. That this festival date of His was not even on my radar that day does not cause Him displeasure, nor me His disfavor.

Am I thrilled that it slipped my mind? No, I can’t say that I am. I can say that what I’m not, is horrified. And that’s a very amazing feeling. Once upon a time this would have been great ammunition against myself. Now, it’s an opportunity to practice compassion and contemplation.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Duffi says:

    I honor your growth in this. Compassion for yourself, especially after such a challenging year, is a good thing. May you continue to be well.

    1. naiadis says:

      Self compassion can be so difficult, but it seems to finally, finally be getting easier! thank you, for your kind words.

  2. Diane says:

    Excellent insights. {{hugs}} Yes, it has been quite the year indeed.

    Since most of the Athenian months don’t work for you, what about naming the months yourself after the festivals *you* celebrate during them? That’s what each of the city-states pretty much did anyway, right? (I think?)

    1. naiadis says:

      One thing that I really like, that you guys do, is naming the months based on *your* festivals. I’ll be holding that in my mind when Beth and I sit down to map out our upcoming year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

