Sheepies!!

on

This weekend here in Eugene is Black Sheep weekend. For long-time readers of this blog, you know what that means: SHEEP. We are fortunate enough to have a wool and fiber festival almost in our backyard, which means it’s a very inexpensive . . . well, we can get there for cheap, at any rate. This year we came home with two gorgeous fleeces for Beth to muck our tub up with, as well as a new, high production drum carder. We spent way too much time in the sun for the fleece sale, alas, and I learned two very important things.

Running out of water is bad business on the second day of summer when one is outside in the sun for two hours, even if one is in Eugene. Also: people are people. Even when they share passions with you, they are still people, and when in a crowd there will be some that you like and some that you wish would just stop talking. Both things I already *knew*, mind you, but it was a reminder.

As was walking around and seeing all the things. I know not everyone involved in fiber arts is interested in living more slowly. I’ve lost sight of that, for me, somewhere in the last few months. How does one live a slower paced life while trying to get a bunch of writing churned out, while working full time, caring for one’s family and garden and leading a fullfilling religious practice? I haven’t figured that out, and still writing is the first thing to get dropped. Am I shooting myself in the foot? Do I *really* want a slow pace with writing? Do I *really* want to be “churning things out”, or is one of these things something I decided I should want? Hrm. Things to ponder.

And I’m crispy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Julia says:

    yay! sheep!

  2. Ow. As someone who fries on the beach like a fork in the microwave, you have my sympathies.

  3. Pixie says:

    Honestly I’ve found churning things out to be most productive in writing because it gets you writing. So even if you don’t think it’s publishable as is: you have something to work on at a later date. For me at least writing is a never ending flow of editing – and then there’s blogging which is completely unedited in my case!

    1. naiadis says:

      I agree with this! In theory, at any rate. In practice, I’m struggling with things. Like: I’m on the novel that I’m working on and I set aside the progress to go back and work on outlining bits, because I only have so much time to devote to writing in the week, and it’s not a lot, and I gave myself permission to write non-linearly to begin with but now that’s slowing me down, so I want to know what happens in order, so I can sit down and just *write*. Except, the outline process always, every single time, stalls me. So, I don’t want to sit down and just “churn things out” right now, because I don’t have the time to “waste” on that, not when there’s so much other things clamouring for my time and attention. I’m dancing around with trying to figure out what approach works for me in that I’ll get the material out and keep my momentum going. I really wanted outlining to be it, and it’s annoying me that it’s not. Though, I *did* pick a time to work on the outline during which I already had commitments — the sheep festival, which involves doing more so Beth can have more time to focus solely on processing the raw fleeces — and a weeklong religious observance coming up in July. So, I likely shot myself in the foot a bit there. Frustrated. Grr. No work is wasted, writing-wise, I do believe. I just want these specific things out faster.

Leave a Reply

