Queen Anne’s Day in photos

on

I’m cheating here, and I know it. Beth posted a bit about our festival for Queen Anne Boleyn yesterday, with some beautiful photos. This is the second one I’ve tagged along for, the first one I’ve been involved in. She, and the other Queens who have become part of Beth’s Family, have slowly started making themselves known to me, as well. It’s . . . interesting. It is somewhat easy to feel a kinship with Queen Anne, and her amazing legacy. I was brought up Protestant, various traditions that owe their existence to her influence. I can read, and have read, the Bible in my language, thanks to Queen Anne. She believed strongly that the Divine should available to everyone — yeah, I can get behind that, too. She carved her path, her life, despite what others might have thought she ought to be doing, and she was scorned as greatly as she was loved. We want, during these festivals for her, marked by the anniversary of her execution, to honor her life and her legacy, to honor the light she was in this world, and her far-reaching influences that come down through the centuries. We want to honor more than just one moment in her life, and I hope that we succeeded. I think that we did.

Leave a Reply

