Sing to me sweetly

I don’t listen to a lot of new music, not like some of my friends. I mean to, I try to remember to, but a music for me is like known authors and favorite jeans. I love discovering something new, but usually it’s something I find because someone points it out to me. Left to my own devices I stick with the what I already know and love. My playlist for Poseidon may reflect that. It will certainly reflect that Poseidon doesn’t shy away from pop songs. (Do feel free to laugh. Sometimes, I do as well). So, what music makes up my standby playlist for this most important of my gods?

In no particular order:

Drawn to the Rhythm
Fumbling Toward Ecstasy
Possession
Sweet Surrender
Answer all by Sarah McLachlan

Crash and Burn by Savage Garden

La Femme de la Mer
Penelope
The Water
Horses by Wendy Rule

The Ocean
February by Dar Williams

Innocent Man
A Matter of Trust
Downeaster “Alexa”
I Go To Extremes by Billy Joel

Want by Disturbed

Trouble Me

Poseidon by Kelly Andrew Kaveny

Sweet Release
Pain Lies on the Riverside
Forever May Not Be Long Enough
Run To the Water all by Live

Whisper by Evanescence

Sirens of Ulysses (though in fairness, mostly because of the images, and it also makes me think of Aphrodite, too.) by Daemonia Nymphe

There are more, but these are the ones that come to mind immediately.

9 thoughts on “Sing to me sweetly

  1. I think what makes it onto one’s playlist is often quite personal to their relationship with the god, in addition to those that appear to be about the god as well. I have chosen alot of music to Apollon from both areas. A song may make sum up my feelings or personal views of the god, or it may seem as if it was appropriately written for the god .. or maybe it literally was πŸ™‚
    You have alot of beautiful music listed there (well those I am familiar with anyway… alot of them I am not). I think devotional playlists are a wonderful thing to have.

  2. I see that a few of the songs from my Odin list are on your Poseidon playlist, too! Some of them are really close to being universal (for those of us in these kinds of relationships), I think.

    • Some of them are really close to being universal

      Definitely. I have “Want” on my Dionysos playlist thanks to Jolene, and “Possession” on my daimon’s playlist thanks to you. πŸ™‚

    • I’d forgotten about Pearl Jam; it’s been so long since I’ve listened to them. There are a lot of their songs I could add. The others I haven’t heard, so thanks for giving me more. πŸ™‚

      • Honestly, almost all of The Distance To Here makes me think of Poseidon, I have to say. The Dolphins Cry ends up not making my list because it was so overplayed by the radio station I listened to, when it first came out, and so that’s my least favorite on that album, and so. Yeah. But, that’s likely my favorite album. dude. They got me to go to a concert. That says something about a band.

        (and I’ve only just learned that they’ve split up. *sigh*)

  3. I know EXACTLY what you mean. Whenever people want me to listen to new music or something, I usually shy away. I have no idea why, either. Generally I end up listening to it, but I rarely seek out new music on my own.

Leave a Reply

